Saint Patty’s Day: A Holiday Worth Celebrating.

Last week was the very fun, playfully hearty, highly anticipated Saint Patty’s Day.  Like me, I’m sure everyone’s celebrations was a ridiculously packed day of Guinness, Irish-car-bombs, green shamrocks, kegs, and screaming like drunken idiots.  Because I studied abroad in Ireland for a semester, I became an unofficial, official member of the Irish community on this day.  It was a great time to reminisce on my experiences abroad by doing what the Irish do best, drink.  People who haven’t been to Ireland may think I’m being stereotypical by saying this, but I speak truth behind my words.  Irish social life revolves around the pub.  It is not uncommon to have business meetings with clients or class meetings at a pub, believe me I know from experience.  There is no surprise why people ruthlessly destroy their livers by endlessly binge drinking to celebrate this day.

Saint Patrick’s Day, or the Feast of Saint Patrick is the most widely celebrated saint’s day in the world.  It is typically characterized by attending church services, wearing green attire, festive parades and floats, day free pass on eating restrictions for lent, and alcohol consumption.  It is a cultural and religious holiday that commemorates the most famous patron saint of Ireland, Saint patrick.  This day is also a celebration for the arrival of Christianity in Ireland.  It was made an official feast day in the early 17th century and is recognized by the Catholic Church, the Anglican Communion, the Eastern Orthodox Church, and the Lutheran Church.  Saint Patricks Day has become a celebration of Irish culture in general all throughout Ireland and the Irish Diaspora.

I find this is a great holiday because of everything we have gained from Irish culture.  It recognizes diversity and immigration.  Many people forget the vast hardship the Irish community suffered.  It is amazing how our society has progressed to a point that commiserates people we once segregated 50 years ago.  Plus any holiday that actually celebrates drinking is okay in my book.

For me this holiday is always the perfect break from school by hanging with amazing friends and getting silly for a weekend.  Some of my personal traditions have always produced an optimum level of fun for me.  This year was 10 a.m at the bar, day parties with kegs, and drinking celebrations at Rasputines at night.  Previous years have brought day drinking at parades, any and all drinking games, and my personal favorite playing “Hey Bob” to the movie “Boondock Saints” (For those who don’t know, “Hey Bob” is a game where you drink at a common word or phrase said throughout a movie).  My friend’s and I pick the word “Fuck”, if you’ve ever seen “Boondock Saints” you can easily see how deadly this game can be.

(Warning: Video contains profanity)

I’d love to hear what everyone else’s quirky Saint Patty’s Day traditions are. I know it’s late, but here’s a toast to Ireland –  Happy Saint Pattrick’s Day, Everyone’s Irish Tonight!

About Things John Lau says

There is a lot to say about me. It's always hard summing up yourself into one little block. Allow me to re-introduce myself. My name is John Lau. I'm a marketing major at Champlain College and after almost 4 short years, I find that i'm ending the first part of my college journey. I try to keep myself active and dabble in a variety of activities. I like snowboarding, longboarding, golfing, playing soccer, participating in intellectual conversations, meeting interesting people and laughing with good friends. I just spent four months in Ireland, where I travelled all over Europe and gained a great perspective about the world. From my travels, I have a new appreciation for different cultures, politics, economies and people. I like to stay updated on current events and technologies that emerge. This blog focuses on my interests in all the fields I dabble in which can include business, technology, sports, snowboarding, movies, music and life in general. This is a way to document my experiences and express my opinions which relate the community I influence.
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment