Advice from a Friend: Tips to Rock your Inteview

I figure with everyone graduating and searching for jobs, that I’d write a post about interviews.  This is inspired after a classmate of mine talked to us about her rigorous interview  process  with Hubspot.  I’m not claiming to be an interview expert or anything, I haven’t even gotten a real career job yet, but this is some advice I’ve heard from classmates, friends, and professors that have helped me procure internships and jobs in the past.

You can read a million articles on how to get interviewed, watch videos on interviews, and talk to people for tips, but none of that will matter if you don’t have confidence.  You need to go into that interview like you are a rock star that is pouring with the superstar attitude you will bring to that job.  Now this isn’t to say you can be a douche bag to your potential employer, but it is essential to believe in yourself.

It is also important to do your homework before any interview.  Google search the company your interviewing with and find out as much about them as possible.  You will look very impressive if you can fire back an intellectual rebuttal to a question they may ask you about their company.  Ask them about their “core values” and how their business plans reflect the values to claim to abide by.  Not only can you learn a lot about the company with their answer to this, but it’ll show the interviewer that you really understand the roots of a good business model.  At the very least you’ll catch them by surprise and stick out.

A very wise professor told me to hold your self in high regards.  Instead of going in with the “what can I get from them attitude” go in with a “how will they benefit from me” mentality instead.  You’ve been training to be a professional for years, don’t fall into the slave mind-set that we belong to corporate America.

Now I’d like to address my classmate’s, Brittany Leaning, unique interview with Hubspot.  Hubspot is an innovative all in one marketing software company that focuses on online initiatives.  Naturally the questions were specifically oriented towards marketing and Brittany’s proficiency with it.

Hubspot asked Brittany questions like:

“If you had $10,000 to spend on (insert company name) social media, what would you do with it?”

“Give an example of a time when you feel you failed at your internship”

“If you could have 10,000 likes or 100,000 likes, which would you prefer? Why?

“How much do you think a “like” is worth and how much would you spend on a “like”?

Now I don’t know about you, but these are quite some difficult and ridiculous questions that I’ve never even thought about.  I believe they asked her these types of questions to get her thinking about the transition from an marketing internship position, into a fully-capable revenue making employee with a career in marketing.  They also asked her “what other courses besides marketing classes have you taken?”  I believe this was to establish how well-rounded she is and what other insight she can offer on topics different from a markers perspective.  Brittany described her interview as an intense process with her interviewer being extremely aggressive and harsh.  We believe this is their way of weeding out the wolf from the sheep.  Brittany handled herself like a champ and now has a job offer from them.

Not all questions are going to be as crazy as the one’s Brittany was asked, however, they most likely make you think in a way you normally wouldn’t.  It is crucial to anticipate this happening and handle the situation with confidence.  Bring in old work from live projects you’ve worked on, a list of questions to ask the company, and any measurable metrics you may have that show ROI.

You’re now an official business professional.  Act accordingly and remember to smile :).

About Things John Lau says

There is a lot to say about me. It's always hard summing up yourself into one little block. Allow me to re-introduce myself. My name is John Lau. I'm a marketing major at Champlain College and after almost 4 short years, I find that i'm ending the first part of my college journey. I try to keep myself active and dabble in a variety of activities. I like snowboarding, longboarding, golfing, playing soccer, participating in intellectual conversations, meeting interesting people and laughing with good friends. I just spent four months in Ireland, where I travelled all over Europe and gained a great perspective about the world. From my travels, I have a new appreciation for different cultures, politics, economies and people. I like to stay updated on current events and technologies that emerge. This blog focuses on my interests in all the fields I dabble in which can include business, technology, sports, snowboarding, movies, music and life in general. This is a way to document my experiences and express my opinions which relate the community I influence.
This entry was posted in Business, education, Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Advice from a Friend: Tips to Rock your Inteview

  1. bleaning says:

    Thanks for mentioning me, John! I’m so glad you got some value out of my chat this morning. The interview process isn’t always easy, that’s for sure. Happy [job] hunting!

Leave a Reply

